Following a private performance in Washington DC, violinist Reiko Watanabe and pianist Ikuyo Nagata present the New York premiere of Eugène Ysaÿe’s transcription of the Chopin Ballade No. 1 at Lafayette Avenue Presbyterian Church on Saturday, August 16 at 8:oopm. Ray Iwazumi, a leading expert on Ysaÿe’s music, will give a short lecture and will also perform a number of selections.


Lecture by Ray Iwazumi
Grasping the Undecipherable: Ysaÿe’s Absorption of Chopin’s Ballade

Ysaÿe: Rêve d’enfant, op. 14
Bach: Partita for Violin no. 3 in E major, BWV 1006
Ysaÿe: Sonata for Solo Violin in A minor, op. 27/2, first movement (Ray Iwazumi )
Chopin/Sarasate: Nocturne in E-flat major, op.9 /2
Chopin/Wilhelmj: Nocturne in D-flat, op.27/2
Ysaÿe: Sonata for Solo Violin in D minor “Ballade” op. 27/3 (Ray Iwazumi)
Chopin/ Ysaÿe: Ballade no. 1 in G minor, op. 23

General Admission: $15
Students/Seniors: $10